Erich Fromm Foundation

Print pagePDF pageEmail page

The engineer and inventor Karl Schlecht, who pioneered the technology for concrete pumps, has not only built up a global company but is also at the same time a major force in promoting the thought of Erich Fromm. Thanks to him and Karl Schlecht Non-Profit Foundation (KGS), as well as to Fromm’s literary executor Rainer Funk, the Erich Fromm Institute Tuebingen could be stabled in summer 2014. Together they founded the charitable Erich Fromm Stiftung (EFS) in order to give the Erich Fromm Institute Tuebingen (EFIT) the financial resources. With their effort the Institute’s collections are permanently accessible to scholars and to the public.

Dated June 17, 2014, the Erich Fromm Foundation was acknowledged by the local authorities and also the non-profit status was granted. Donations are possible and welcome to ensure the financial basis for the Erich Fromm Institute and its activities and projects.

The bylaw of the Charitable Erich Fromm Foundation defines the purposes of the foundation as follows:

“(1) The purpose of the Foundation is to maintain the scientific legacy of Erich Fromm and to promote the reception, dissemination and further development of Erich Fromm’s scientific findings.

(2) The purpose of the Foundation particularly shall be realized by establishing an Erich Fromm Institute. This Institute shall house Fromm’s reference library and his scientific estate that by Fromm’s last will was given to Rainer Funk, who was Fromm’s last assistant and who recorded the collections and enlarged them by a collection of the literature about Fromm.”

Among the five members of the Advisory Board are a representative of the Non-profit Karl Schlecht Foundation, a member of the Board of the International Erich Fromm Society and the president of the International Psychoanalytic University Berlin (IPU). Rainer Funk was appointed to be the first director of the Erich Fromm Foundation.

 

Address:

Gemeinnützige Erich Fromm Stiftung

c/o Dr. Rainer Funk

Ursrainer Ring 24

D-72076 Tuebingen / Germany

Phone: +49 (0)70 71-600 004

Fax: +49 (0)70 71-600 049

E-Mail: frommfunk[at-symbol]gmail.com

 

Bank account:

Erich Fromm Stiftung (EFS)

Bank number: 600 501 01

Account No.: 435 518 03

IBAN: DE95 6005 0101 0004 3518 03

BIC: SOLADEST600

Erich Fromm Stiftung

Print pagePDF pageEmail page

Dank der Förderung durch Karl Schlecht und die Karl Schlecht Stiftung (KSG) konnten die Bestände des Erich Fromm-Archivs, die als Privatbesitz von Rainer Funk bisher in dessen Privathaus untergebracht waren, im Sommer 2014 in ein eigenes Institut am Rande der Tübinger Altstadt umziehen. Um dies möglich zu machen, wurde von Karl Schlecht und Rainer Funk eine Erich Fromm Stiftung (EFS) geschaffen, die die Existenz des Erich Fromm Instituts und damit auch die Zugänglichkeit und Nutzung der Frommschen Bibliothek und seines Nachlasses auf Dauer finanziell sichert.

Mit Datum 17. Juni 2014 wurde die Erich Fromm Stiftung vom Regierungspräsidium Südwürttemberg als rechtsfähig anerkannt; vom Finanzamt Tübingen wurde ihre Gemeinnützigkeit bestätigt. Zustiftungen sind möglich und erwünscht, um das Stiftungskapital und die daraus fließenden Erlöse zu erhöhen und den Stiftungszweck zu erfüllen.

In der Satzung der Gemeinnützigen Erich Fromm Stiftung (EFS) wird als Stiftungszweck definiert:

„(1) Zweck der Stiftung ist die Pflege des wissenschaftlichen Werks von Erich Fromm sowie die Rezeption, Verbreitung und Weiterentwicklung der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse Erich Fromms.

(2) Dieser Stiftungszweck wird insbesondere verwirklicht durch die Einrichtung eines Erich Fromm Instituts. Dieses soll die Bestände der wissenschaftlichen Bibliothek und den wissenschaftlichen Nachlass von Erich Fromm aufnehmen, den Erich Fromm Rainer Funk, seinem letzten Assistenten, vermacht und die Rainer Funk systematisch erfasst und um Literatur über Fromm erweitert hat.“

Im fünfköpfigen Kuratorium ist neben einem Vertreter der KSG und der Fromm-Gesellschaft auch der Präsident der International Psychoanalytic University Berlin (IPU) vertreten. Zum ersten Stiftungsvorstand wurde Rainer Funk bestellt.

 

Anschrift:

Gemeinnützige Erich Fromm Stiftung
zu Hdn. Dr. Rainer Funk

Ursrainer Ring 24
D-72076 Tübingen

Tel: +49 (0)70 71-600 004
Fax: +49 (0)70 71-600 049

E-Mail: frommfunk(at-symbol)gmail.com

 

Bankverbindung:

Erich Fromm Stiftung (EFS)

BLZ: 600 501 01
Konto: 435 18 03

IBAN: DE95 6005 0101 0004 3518 03
BIC: SOLADEST600